Letting Go

I can feel my chest tighten and my eyes start to water as my body is overcome with emotions. The second my mother’s voice is heard over the phone, the tears start to fall. After talking for an hour, my body feels exhausted and I know that these past two weeks have taken a toll. I love my friend for trying to help me cheer up and it worked a little. I was still exhausted and emotional, but I wasn’t crying to the degree I was when I was talking to my mom. I also cannot express my full appreciation for my best guy friend from home. He has been the best friend that I could ever ask for. All my friends from home are awesome because they are extremely supportive. I know that tonight I will be able to get some well needed sleep. I also know that I can be strong and that I will be able to let it all go tomorrow.

The morning light comes and I’m excited for what the day is going to bring. Despite that my day started off with me locking myself out of my room, I have lunch with some girls in my pledge class and they are all great girls! We all get along with each other and that is good. Finally, dinner! I’m able to persuade one more friend to join in with the fun that is to come later tonight. My happiness already shines bright due to a close friend. The hour between goes by super fast and before I know it, I’m speeding down the stairs. I can’t wait to see everyone and get the fun started.

I’m waiting inside, my excitement bubbling inside me. Ready to burst! Then I hear a voice that I’m familiar with. My grief starts to fade away. A huge smile makes its way on to my face. As we walk towards my favorite place in the city, I tell my close friend about the past couple days. I also meet my friend’s childhood friend, which was fun. Being surrounded by people who I know helps some of my stress slip away. I’m finally laughing for the first time this week. I’m relaxed and I’m happy that my close friend was able to get along with everyone else. We finally make it to my favorite place in the city, the ICE RINK!!!

After I pay for my ticket, I slip my skates on. The second I lace up my skates, I can feel myself becoming grounded. I can feel my excitement consume me and I’m literally bouncing up and down. Then I see my other three close friends and I know then that this day was going to end well. We head into the rink and I notice that they have finally finished cleaning the ice!

The second I’m on the ice, I feel all my stress leave me. Gliding, I forget about all the past events and I let it all go. I left it all on the ice that night and I hope it never comes back. Now, I can be free. I start dancing to the songs that DJ is playing. I start skating backwards and twirling in non-professional circles. I’m enjoying myself and it seems as though everyone else is also. I’m having a blast laughing and joking with everyone. I can tell that I’m going to get along with the girls in my pledge class and I don’t need to worry about losing my other friends. I’m glad that I invited everyone to come and I’m glad they all came.

When the time is up, I’m sad at first, but I know that what I wanted to do was accomplished. I’m not stressed or emotional anymore. I feel stronger than I have felt in the past two weeks. I still miss not being able to talk to the rest of the girls in the sorority, but I know that I have the girls in my pledge class to help me get through the silence. I walk with the two friends that have been the best friends that I could ever ask for these past two weeks. They have helped cheer me up. They have celebrated the highs of the past two weeks and helped me get through the lows. We are all joking around and then they were trying to make me uncomfortable, which worked. I’ll admit that I was uncomfortable, but I had a huge smile on my face. So, I didn’t care if they were teasing me. When it was time to say goodbye and go our separate ways, I was bummed a little; but, I knew that I would see one of my friends the following morning. After being able to go ice skating, I knew I could get through the following week and that I was going to be okay.

I cannot thank the people who helped me get through the past two weeks enough. They were the ones who knew all the right things to say and knew when to say nothing at all. I also cannot thank my parents enough for helping me get through these past two weeks. I know that it is difficult to send your first child off to school and not be there for her when she needs to be comforted. But, my parents were able to comfort me, despite the fact that I was miles away. I also cannot express my gratitude to my friends back home. Many of them spent hours on the phone with me during these past two weeks and I hope they know that I am always here for them like they were there for me. I also have to thank my roommate for not getting sick of me. We have both been through the extreme ups and downs these past two weeks and I cannot express how thankful I am that she was there. I hope she knows that I care for her and that I will always support her in difficult times.

Sometimes it is difficult to explain your gratitude to another person in a conversation. That is why I want to write this story. I wanted to show that I appreciated all the help and support during the tough times. I know that I probably could learn how to do it in person, but I sometimes feel that my writing shows it a bit better. So, thanks to everyone who has supported me these past two weeks!

What do you think?

